Letter to Priests
What is a Monsignor?



New Monsignors



Thursday, 10 November 2005


With great joy His Excellency, Bishop Jerome E. Listecki, D.D., J.C.D., and the Catholic Diocese of La Crosse, Wisconsin, wish to announce that His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVI, has bestowed upon eight (8) priests of the Diocese of La Crosse the Papal Honor of “Chaplain to His Holiness, bearing with it the title of “Monsignor, in honor of their service to the Church.


The eight priests are:


The Very Reverend Monsignor Richard W. Gilles

         Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia

         Ordained 11 years


The Very Reverend Monsignor Robert P. Hundt

         Judicial Vicar and Pastor of Blessed Sacrament Parish, La Crosse

         Ordained 44 years


The Reverend Monsignor Charles A. Blecha

         Senior Priest

         Ordained 65 years


The Reverend Monsignor J. Floyd Dwyer

         Senior Priest

         Ordained 57 years


The Reverend Monsignor Edmund J. Klimek

         Chaplain at Sacred Heart Hospital, Eau Claire

         Ordained 52 years


The Reverend Monsignor Edwin L. Knauf

         Senior Priest

         Ordained 72 years


The Reverend Monsignor John E. Malik

         Pastor, St. Mary Help of Christian Parish, Colby

         Ordained 52 years


The Reverend Monsignor Bernard O. McGarty

         Senior Priest

         Ordained 56 years


The Papal Honor will be conferred at a Mass celebrated by Bishop Listecki at the Cathedral of Saint Joseph the Workman, La Crosse, at 2 p.m. on Sunday, December 18, 2005.